Nugget of joy #12

I was fiddling with my phone after dinner at my in laws’ place. Aly emerged from the kitchen with a slice of pear which she was clutching on to tightly. She loves fruits (as much as she loves bread) and she had been eagerly waiting for my mother in law to cut her some fruits.

I thought she would plonk herself on the floor, make herself comfortable and enjoy her fruit.

Instead, she toddled towards me, her hands outstretched to help her maintain her balance. There was a huge grin on her face. She stopped right in front of me, held the pear to my mouth and offered to let me take a bite of the pear.

It was a really simple act, but this act from my 15 month old toddler made my day (in fact, my week)! It was her way of showing her love for me. It showed that she understood what it meant to share and to give. It meant so so much to me.

I was reminded once again, of how blessed we are to have Aly in our lives and how blessed I am to be able to experience the joy of mothering – something I would not trade for anything else in this world.

14 thoughts on “Nugget of joy #12

Leave a Reply

