{Thankful Tuesdays} – Bedtime

I have the privilege of putting Aly to bed every night. It has been the case since day one. I pat her to sleep, I nursed her to sleep, and now I sing her a lullaby and lie beside her till she falls asleep.

I have to admit that there were times when I was exhausted, and when I would be rather be in the living room watching tv, or spending some me time reading a magazine, or just lying down in the comfort of my own bed (instead of her mattress). There were times when I also wished I could pass this task to ys when I have to leave my dinner appointments early just so I can be in time to tuck my little one into bed. I am only human.

But I would say these occasions are rare. I do think these thoughts but not often. Most of the time, like tonight, I am grateful for the time I have with Aly before she drifts off to sleep. It is a precious time for me. I sing to her and hold her close for that familiar baby smell, which she is losing bit by bit each day.

It is a bliss to be able to wind down at the end of an exhausting day with someone I love so dearly. Today, I am thankful for this child, for being able to hold her to sleep and for being able to experience this joy.

Linking up with:

2 thoughts on “{Thankful Tuesdays} – Bedtime

  1. Thanks for the reminder that it is a privilege, even though sometimes it feels like a chore, having to spend an hour to put baby to bed! I guess we’ll be looking back at those times wistfully next time when they are all grown up!

    • Yeah I have to constantly remind myself too! I am sure I will miss these precious moments when they grow up and need their “privacy” (I know of 7 year olds who tell their mums that!).

Leave a Reply

