Aly at 11 months

Aly has never been as fun and as interactive as now. She never fails to surprise me and make me laugh every single day.

Here’s her 11 month update:

Feeds: she’s still crazy about food. On weekdays she eats really healthily with my mum and in-laws cooking her porridge with fish/pork and various types of vegetable. She also has different types of fruits. The newest addition to the list is dragonfruit. On weekends, she eats whatever ys and I eat and we try to give her whatever that is not too sweet/salty/oily. But just last week I started feeling bad about feeding her so much junk and have decided to home cook at least her lunches.

On milk, I had grand plans to wean her before I head to Hong Kong. I started pumping only once at work and bought formula milk and new milk bottles. How naive was I to think that the transition would be a smooth one. She has flatly refused formula milk and got so paranoid about bottle feeding that she has refused to drink even breastmilk through the bottle. My mum has tried to mix only a spoonful of formula into the breast milk and even that didn’t work. We are now in the midst of letting her try all types of bottles/teats/formula to see what works for her. In the meantime she’s still on partial breastmilk. I really do hope I get this sorted out before we head to Hong Kong. Sigh.

Sleeping patterns: this has gotten worse since we introduced formula to her. I call it weaning anxiety. She’s perpetually stuck to me throughout the night. However, last night we decided to start the weaning process and we let her cry it out. It was most heartbreaking though . She cried for a really really long time. I only hope it gets better tonight.

Speech: Aly is really expressive and her actions are almost always accompanied by random sounds, some of which are highly amusing. Her favourite expression is “ooh?” (quizzical look) and I can’t help but laugh everytime she does that. She’s babbling a lot more now too! The funniest was when she started mimicking the sound of an aeroplane, complete with actions.

20121107-153545.jpg

Motor skills: Aly is finally crawling properly, on all fours (and not dragging her feet like she used to). She also pulls herself up with more ease now and is able to stand comfortably with support. Because she sleeps on a mattress on the floor, when we are on the bed and she cannot see us, she will try to pull herself up to the standing position and will give this really cheeky and satisfied smile when she manages to stand on her own and is able to see us. Very cute if I may say so.

She now knows how to point to things and her own nose/mouth/ears.

Other developments: she has learnt how to clap and give flying kisses and she leans her head on my chest when I ask to be hugged. She loves to tilt her head to one side to look at someone when she is trying to get their attention and my heart turns into goo each time she does that. She is very generous with her smiles when she is with people she is familiar with.

She is at a stage where she tries to mimic all our actions and is absorbing information like a sponge. When asked to comb her hair, she would pretend to brush her (non-existent) hair with her hand. She also constantly surprises us with information that she remembers. For example, she would have seen my sis with pretty dangling earrings a week before, and when she next meets my sister (without those earrings), she will point at my sister’s ears and go “ooh?” and does the “where?” hand gesture.

She generally understands and follows instructions. For example, when we ask her to sit down and wait while we fetch her a toy, she would sit patiently and wait.

We have been bringing her swimming and she loves it! She also loves all animals and gets really really excited when she sees animals. The other thing that gets her really excited is music. She really likes songs and music and would still bob her head/body to any song she hears. Oh, and she starts pointing and screaming everytime we walk past a playground. Generally a very excitable baby!

Happy belated 11 months old Aly!

20121107-232330.jpg

Leave a Reply

