The Sleep Debt

I must say the past few months have been really hectic. In addition to trying to get used to parenthood and dealing with an energizer baby, we have also had to sell our place (which meant many weekends of house viewings and cleaning up), buy a new place, deal with all the administrative matters that came along with the aforesaid, pack (it’s amazing what this simple four letter word entails), move to a serviced apartment and deal with the renovations and furniture shopping.

It doesn’t help that work has been really busy and stressful especially in the past month. I get home mentally and physically exhausted at the end of the day, and have to deal with Aly waking up a couple of times a night.

So I think my body finally decided to go on a strike. It’s way of telling me “Take a break! You’ve got to rest!” I can’t remember when was the last time I fell this ill. In fact I don’t remember falling sick since I gave birth. But I guess once it hits, it hits real bad!

I’m thankful though, that I could count on my in laws and my mum to take care of Aly while I caught up on my sleep the past two days. And for once in maybe 10 months, I managed to get restful uninterrupted naps. Oh sleep, how I’ve missed you so!

So maybe it isn’t a bad thing that I’ve been taken ill. The Chinese have a saying 休息是为了走更长远的路 (which translates to something like “rest is to prepare you for the longer journey ahead”). I guess there’s some truth to that!

I unfortunately passed the bug on to Aly so I was kept awake most of last night, trying to help her clear her blocked nose, nursing her and making sure she wasn’t running a fever. On nights like these, i’m really really thankful that I’m
still nursing and am still able to provide her with some comfort (and immunity). I have been breastfeeding for 11 months and was hoping to wean her off soon, before my trip to hong kong, but this episode has made me rethink my decision. Oh well, I shall save this for another post.

I hope both Aly and I fully recover soon! It’s going to be an exciting weekend for us!

Leave a Reply

