The Happiness Project

I had a very insightful and meaningful discussion with a bunch of good friends about life in general, and one very important lesson I took away from the night (and specifically HF) is to be approach everything with positivism. Basically that positivity will generate vibes that will bring about more positivism, because your attitude affects the way you handle situations and therefore, the consequences.

It sounds all too theoretical but I do believe in this theory. Things do inevitably get better when you choose to approach it with a positive attitude rather than a negative one. At the end of the day, it’s always a choice.

Easier said than done of course. There will be days when emotions get the better of you, and all rationality is thrown aside. These are the times you choose to react with anger and bitterness, and these are the times when tempers flare and hurtful exchanges are made. More often than not, with the benefit of hindsight, I would wish I had reacted differently and I think about how it could have been so much better it I had reacted positively.

In this regard, happiness is a decision. We often forget this. For some, they don’t even realise this. They choose to focus on all the things that could potentially go wrong- bad traffic, long queues, crowded trains, missing the lift, messy house etc. I’m one of them on some days.

But generally I’m grateful for what I have and for who I am. After today’s conversation, I am even more motivated to make a decision to be happy every single day. A simple step would be to look out for, and acknowledge the things that make me happy.

So, this is my happiness project – to jot down a line or two about what made me happy on a particular day.

This is my commitment to happiness and positivity and I thought this blog would be the perfect platform to document this journey!

Hoping that more people would join me on this journey!

4 thoughts on “The Happiness Project

  1. I totally agree with you. I think sometimes is hard to be positive but always beneficial. I have a blog about happiness as well. I loved the name of your blog =)

    • Hi Lou, thanks for dropping by and for leaving a comment! Glad to know that there are like minded people around who share the same pursuit for happiness 🙂 love your blog!

  2. Love the idea of the happiness project. Like you, I firmly believe that we have control over how we react to situations. So choosing to be happy is always the best decision! 😀

    Hope all’s well! Stay happy!

  3. Pingback: {Thankful Today} 1st & 2nd December | A nugget of joy for a lifetime of cupcakes

Leave a Reply

